Skip to main content

Africa has developed various instruments and bodies to establish and protect human rights on the continent. The African Human Rights System (AHRS)  are the laws and structures created to work towards human rights protection in Africa.  This legal system of African Union human rights treaty law and their corresponding monitoring bodies comprises of six (6) human rights treaties which are:

AU human rights treaty bodies

Of these six treaties, the African Charter, the African Children’s Charter and the African Court Protocol created the three (3) primary treaty monitoring and enforcement bodies of the Africa. These are the:

To read more about these treaty bodies, please follow the links above.

African Regional Economic Community (REC) Courts

In addition to the AU treaties, the following 3 sub-regions of Africa have vibrant legal systems and human rights mandated courts to adjudicate cases from their respective sub-regions. These are: