Skip to main content
Fair Trial / JudiciaryMain Statutes


By October 1, 2012September 17th, 2019No Comments

The East Africa Community Treaty was signed on 30 November 1999 in Arusha, Tanzania by the Heads of its five Member States – Burundi, Rwanda, Uganda, Kenya and Tanzania – who are referred to in the Treaty as Partner States of the Community. Article 9 of the EAC Treaty provides for the establishment of an East African Court of Justice (EACJ).

The main task of the EACJ is to ensure that its Member States comply with the provisions of the EAC Treaty, the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights and any other African Union instrument to which they are signatories.

The EACJ has no admissibility requirements; therefore an aggrieved Partner State has direct access to the Court. The aim of the Court is to promote unity and the respect for human rights in the East African region.